The use of AppLink® (the app) on the running iOS® device (the device) takes place thanks to the iCloud® account of the authenticated user at launch time (the user). The owner of the device takes on all the responsibilities for the information uploaded, collected and processed by the user. The owner of the device undertakes to prevent acts of negligence or bad faith in order to protect the data contained in the database.
This document describes the functionality of the app, the data storage, the permissions required by the app, the in-app purchases offered and the data processing.
The purpose of the app is to upload and share URLs. The user can save his/her links and archive them in folders. The user can edit the tags (keywords) to the link in order to improve its discoverability. The user can set the privacy to Public/Private to make the link visible to the other user of the app either to get it hidden. The user can create custom coloured folders to group links together and organise them in an efficient way.
The user can search anything by tag, that means tags are the core of the app.
The app has been designed for CloudKit® to keep the data updated on the user’s iOS devices and to allow users to share their links. According to Apple® documentation, CloudKit apps store data in iCloud®:
“CloudKit provides a way to store data as records in a database. It is a service for moving data to and from iCloud and sharing data between users of the app. Data is segregated and encapsulated in partitions called containers.”
The app stores data in the public and in the private database when the user uploads a new link, while other data related to the user’s folders is stored in the private database. Only the user can edit content on the private database.
“Each container has links to a public and private database for storing data. The contents of the public database are accessible to all the users of the app, whereas the contents of the private database are by default visible only to the current user. […] There’s a private database for each user of the app, but the app only has access to the private database of the current user. […] The private database is available only if the device has an active iCloud account. Access to the database is limited to the user of that iCloud account by default. The current user owns all content in the private database and is allowed to read and write that content. Data in the private database is not visible in the developer portal or to any other user. […]”
Data that resides in the private database is attributed to the user's personal storage quota on iCloud. Only the user can edit content on the private database.
“The data in a public database counts against the iCloud storage quota of the app. Data in the private database counts against the user’s iCloud storage quota.”
This app will request access to:
Notifications to notify the user about likes on uploaded links.
The user can purchase Premium Plan to get enabled to add more than 3 links/month and to create new folders.
To proceed with the purchase, the user can buy the IAP from the app or directly from the App Store.
The in-app purchase has no expiring date, however it must be restored when the users installs the app on a device or launches the app when is logged in to iCloud from another device. Restore is a free operation that will get the IAP working on that device.
By using the app, the user accepts all the conditions above mentioned and becomes the only person responsible of the stored and shared data. There is no other data processing but the one provided by the app. There is no commercial or advertising purposes, the user's personal data are not disclosed, no registration or subscription is asked for newsletters or other service for marketing, research o analysis, therefore no authorization is required on the use of personal information. Any misuse or abuse of the user's personal data by other users or other persons, companies, organisations outside the context and functionality described in this document cannot be directly or indirectly attributed to the developer of the app, nor to the producer of the device or to the owner of the operating system copyrights.